Skip Navigation
Menu

Faculty

Director of GPAS

Anthony J. Broccoli, Professor, Environmental Sciences; Ph.D., Rutgers-New Brunswick
broccoli@envsci.rutgers.edu    848-932-5749


Members of the Graduate Faculty

Anthony J. Broccoli, Professor, Environmental Sciences; Ph.D., Rutgers-New Brunswick
broccoli@envsci.rutgers.edu    848-932-5749
Climate dynamics; paleoclimate; climate model feedbacks and sensitivity

Enrique Curchitser, Associate Professor, Environmental Sciences; Ph.D., Rutgers-New Brunswick
enrique@marine.rutgers.edu    848-932-7889
Oceanic general circulation; coupled biophysical and numerical modeling; sea ice-ocean interactions; dynamics of eastern boundary currents

Steven J. Decker, Associate Teaching Professor, Environmental Sciences; Ph.D., Wisconsin-Madison
decker@envsci.rutgers.edu    848-932-5750
Numerical weather prediction and forecasting; data assimilation; bridging atmospheric dynamics and synoptic meteorological practice

Jennifer Francis, Research Professor, Marine and Coastal Studies; Ph.D., Washington
francis@marine.rutgers.edu
Satellite remote sensing of polar regions; Arctic climate change; energetics of the coupled ocean-atmosphere-sea ice system

Dale B. Haidvogel, Distinguished Professor, Marine and Coastal Studies; Ph.D., MIT/Woods Hole Oceanographic Institute
dale@marine.rutgers.edu    848-932-3367
Application of multi-scale ocean circulation models to simulate ocean currents and regional climate impacts; data assimilation for regional forecasts

Dujuan Kang, Assistant Research Professor, Environmental Sciences; Ph.D., Stanford
dujuan@esm.rutgers.edu    848-932-980
Physical oceanography and ocean modeling; climate variability and prediction; numerical method and model development

Robert E. Kopp, Professor, Earth and Planetary Sciences; Ph.D., California Institute of Technology
robert.kopp@rutgers.edu   
Statistcal and process models integrating diverse geological data sets; using past sea level change to improve estimates of ice sheet stability and future sea level change; quantifying human impacts on global climate; climate change and risk management

Benjamin R. Lintner, Associate Professor, Environmental Sciences; Ph.D., California-Berkeley
lintner@envsci.rutgers.edu   848-932-5731
Tropical climate dynamics; interactions between large-scale dynamics and convection; land-atmosphere interactions

Monica A. Mazurek, Associate Professor, Civil Engineering; Ph.D., California-Los Angeles
mmazurek@rutgers.edu    732-445-0579 x 128
Air quality engineering; fates of carbonaceous aerosol particles; analytical methods for organic compounds in environmental and chemical engineering processes; and organic geochemistry of Earth materials

James R. Miller, Professor, Marine and Coastal Studies; Ph.D., Maryland
miller@marine.rutgers.edu    848-932-3349
Climate modeling and climate change; polar region hydrologic cycle; impacts of climate change on river flow and water resources

Mark Miller, Professor, Environmental Sciences; Ph.D., Pennsylvania State
m.miller@envsci.rutgers.edu    848-932-5747
Cloud physics, atmospheric radiation; remote sensing; observing systems

Ying Fan Reinfelder, Professor, Earth and Planetary Sciences; Ph.D., Utah State
yingfan@eps.rutgers.edu    848-932-5772
Hydrology; role of groundwater in the terrestrial hydrologic cycle; past and future change in the hydrologic cyle; impact of climate change on freshwater resources

Asa Rennermalm, Associate Professor, Geography; Ph.D., Princeton
asa.rennermalm@rutgers.edu    848-445-4731
Arctic hydroclimatology; high latitude surface hydrology; dynamics of ice sheets

David Robinson, Professor, Geography; Ph.D., Columbia
david.robinson@rutgers.edu    848-445-4741
Climate and climate change; hemispheric snow cover kinematics and dynamics; collection and archiving of climate data

Alan Robock, Distinguished Professor, Environmental Sciences; Ph.D., MIT
robock@envsci.rutgers.edu    848-932-5751
Climate change detection, attribution, and impacts; geoengineering; role of volcanic eruptions in climate; regional atmospheric and hydrologic modeling

Georgiy Stenchikov, Research Professor, Environmental Sciences; Ph.D., Moscow Physical Technical Institute
[on leave at King Abdullah University of Science and Technology]
georgiy.stenchikov@kaust.edu.sa
Multiscale modeling of the climate system; distribution and optical properties of volcanic aerosols; stratosphere-troposphere interaction; chemistry-climate interactions and pollutant transport

Lynne Trabachino, Associate Director, Institute of Earth, Ocean, and Atmospheric Sciences; Ph.D., Rutgers University
lynne.trabachino@rutgers.edu    848-932-4595
Weather and Climate Modeling, Model Verification, and Cloud microphysics, and Boundary Layer Meteorology

Mary Whelan, Assistant Professor, Environmental Sciences; Ph.D., University of California, Berkeley
mary.whelan@rutgers.edu
Biochemical cycling, biosphere-atmosphere interactions, atmospheric chemistry, novel approaches for estimating carbon uptake

Lili Xia, Research Associate, Environmental Sciences; Ph.D. Rutgers University
lili.xia@rutgers.edu
Climate Modeling, Climate Change, Aerosols, Environment, Atmospheric Pollution, Air Quality